ANS Annual Convention

American Navion Society Annual Convention Report


SNAG was well represented again last year at the ANS annual convention held at St. Ignace, Michigan.  Those of you who could not get there were sorely missed.  Everyone enjoyed a great time again this year.  The flying contests were dominated by SNAG again this year.  The weather was cool and messy at times, but we worked our flying events around the weather.  The Speed contest was held Tuesday morning.  The Efficiency was flown Tuesday afternoon to take advantage of the nice weather.  We flew the Proficiency event spread over two days.  Some of us were able to get it completed on Wednesday morning in MVFR weather and the rest flew on Friday morning.


This year's convention began on Sunday but some of us arrived on Saturday to relax and look around. A few of us flew up to Lake Superior Sunday morning to look around and fly over the Shipwreck Memorial and Whitefish Bay.  We also landed on Macinac Island.


Sunday evening we had our traditional welcoming pizza party.  During the week our members toured the area including trips to Mackinac Island, Whitefish Bay, the Icebreaker Museum, and the Shipwreck Memorial.


Congratulations to SNAG members participating in the flying competition events at the 2019 ANS Annual Convention.  Our combined efforts resulted in SNAG winning the ANS Challenge Cup for our 15th consecutive year!  Former SNAG President Mitch Midyet should be very proud.


Winners in the flying events are:


ALL OUT SPEED EVENT                Chapter                                  Speed (from standing start to flying finish)


310 HP Rusty Herrington                 SNAG                                    198.68 MPH

300 HP


1st      Greg Young                          SNAG                                      190.22 MPH

2nd     John Damaged                                                                       186.11 MPH

           Bruce Herrington                   SNAG                                     182.73 MPH


285 HP

1st       Rick Mills                              SNAG                                     188.29 MPH

2nd      Bobby Herrington                  SNAG                                     185.97 MPH

            John Yohey                           SNAG                                     183.42 MPH

           David Bejvan                         Midwest                                   177.61 MPH


260 HP

1st       Robert Gaines                        SNAG                                     173.68 MPH

           Marty Eveland                        Midwest                                   168.20 MPH


225 HP

           Dwight Myers                       Midwest                                    157.96 MPH


205 HP

           Joshua Raymond                   Midwest                                    150.56 MPH





Robert Gaines                                    SNAG                                    


EFFICIENCY CONTEST                                                              Score (High wins)


1st        Rusty Herrington                   SNAG                                     54.04

2nd      Jeff Davis                               SNAG                                     51.98

3rd       Bobby Herrington                  SNAG                                     50.30

            Greg Young                           SNAG                                     50.00

            Joe Humble                           Midwest                                   49.98

            John Yohey                           SNAG                                      48.55

            Bruce Herrington                   SNAG                                      47.54

            Rick Mills                               SNAG                                     47.03

           Joshua Raymond                     Midwest                                   40.83

           David Bejvan                          Midwest                                   38.46



PROFICIENCY CONTEST                                                         Score (Low wins)


1st       Rick Mills                              SNAG                                       199

2nd     Greg Young                           SNAG                                        206

3rd     John Yohey                            SNAG                                        213

          Dick Bhiler                             Midwest                                     512

          David Bejvan                          Midwest                                     600           

           Bruce Herrington                   SNAG                                        706

           Paul Thomas                          Midwest                                     752

           Rusty Herrington                    SNAG                                        957

           Jeff Davis                               SNAG                                       1117


Click here for slideshow.