ANS Annual Convention

American Navion Society Annual Convention Report


SNAG was well represented again last year at the ANS annual convention held at Dayton, Ohio.  Those of you who could not get there were sorely missed.  Everyone enjoyed a great time again this year.  The flying contests were dominated by SNAG again this year.  The weather was warm to hot and muggy at times, but we had good weather to fly all of the flying events..  The Speed contest was held Tuesday morning.  The Efficiency was flown Thursday, and Proficiency on Friday. 


This year's convention began on Sunday but some of us arrived on Saturday to relax and look around. We toured the Museum of the US Air Force and Carillon Park where the 1905 Wright Flyer is on permanent display.


Sunday evening we had our traditional welcoming pizza party at the Moraine Airpark.  


Congratulations to SNAG members participating in the flying competition events at the 2022 ANS Annual Convention. Our combined efforts resulted in SNAG winning the ANS Challenge Cup for our 17th consecutive year!  Former SNAG President Mitch Midyet should be very proud.


Winners in the flying events are:


ALL OUT SPEED EVENT                Chapter                                  Speed (from standing start to flying finish)


310 HP 


1st        Mike Kading                        IV                                          177.8 MPH

             Rusty Herrington                  SNAG                                    166.92MPH


300 HP


1st      Alan Judy                              SNAG                                      179.55 MPH

2nd     Kevin Domingue                    SNAG                                     168.88MPH

           Lee Holmes                           SNAG                                     163.76MPH


285 HP

1st       John Yohey                          Northeast                                  165.90 MPH

2nd     Kevin Woodside                  Northeast                                  165.26 MPH

3rd     Jason Woodside                    Northeast                                165.14 MPH

           Bobby Herrington              SNAG                                     161.31 MPH

           Rick Mills                            Midwest                                  158.82 MPH

           Dave Desmon                    Northwest                               148.97 MPH

           Jim Rezich                         Midwest                                   131.31 MPH





Leo Langston                                   SNAG                                    


EFFICIENCY CONTEST                                                              Score (High wins)


1st        Mike Kading                           IV                                           79.66

2nd       John Yohey                           Northeast                                  67.23

3rd        Alan Judy                              SNAG                                     68.95

             Bobby Herrington                   SNAG                                     64.19

             Rick Mills                               Midwest                                  61.95

             Lee Holmes                            SNAG                                     60.19

            Rusty Herrington                      SNAG                                     59.18

            Kevin Domingue                      SNAG                                     56.62

            Leo Langston                           SNAG                                    47.55





1st      John Yohey                              Northeast                                 60

2nd     Rick Mills                                 Midwest                                 115

3rd      Alan Judy                                SNAG                                    325

           Dave Desmon                          Northwest                               633

          Mike Kading                             IV                                         1272

          Bobby Herrington                      SNAG                                  1548

          Lee Holmes                               SNAG                                  2755

          Ken Hewes                               SNAG                                11705